misssakura

Beautiful words, ugly words: the sound of a language

Post by misssakura »

Split from Yuunagi Loop lyrics topic.

bangs = fringe

I think bangs is a horrendous word, its so incredibly ugly :(
frecklegirl

Post by frecklegirl »

[quote="misssakura"]I think bangs is a horrendous word, its so incredibly ugly :( [/quote]

That is too bad, because fringe sounds equally weird to me! ;)
frecklegirl

Post by frecklegirl »

[quote="Merri"]English isn't a very beautiful language. You know... "beautiful" is a horrible word as well. So it can't really be a beatiful language because even the beautiful sounds and looks ugly.[/quote]

Nooo! Beautiful IS a beautiful word!

Oh no, we can't get into a language fight though. XD

But seriously... everybody thinks certain other languages sound harsh and ugly. For example, German still sounds that way to me, though I'm sure if I studied it as I have Spanish, French and Japanese, it would sound as beautiful to me as they do.

Please don't insult English, if you're not prepared to accept that your own language could be perceived in the exact same way to others who don't speak it. And don't make judgments about other languages if you're not even a native speaker! That's just mean :/
Sora

Post by Sora »

We're going off topic guys~~~~^^;;;;;

But it's true that what you said Merri sounded pretty mean... :(

... and by the way I think "beautiful" sounds and looks beautiful^^ it's just subjectivity in the end, as frecklegirl said, it depends a lot on the experience you got with the language ; concerning "bangs" (which was the subject at the beginning^^), I don't like that word a lot, but I think it's because it always reminds me of the onomatopoeia for guns sound in comics ><;;;;;[/size]
☆NIKOPACHI☆ Love and... Peace !! \(^O^)/
Tenson

Post by Tenson »

I think Merri was just joking :3

Btw, I really like to hear a girl whispering japanese; it's suuuuch.... errrr, let's say... relaxing :evil:
Noinini

Post by Noinini »