Honey Come translation

Lyrics, tablature and sheetmusic of Maaya's songs... and all that is related.
frecklegirl

Honey Come translation

Post by frecklegirl »

Hello everyone! I decided, since roxfan already posted kanji and romanization of the song Honey Come, I'd go ahead and do a translation. I know the group is pretty divided on whether or not they like this song but I figured everyone would like to know what she's singing about regardless. I'm a second-year Japanese student and I've been translating songs for a while, so I have some experience, but if you see any errors or things you think could be phrased better, please don't hesitate to (politely!) let me know :)

And a note about the song title, I have thought it over, and despite the many different romanizations that have popped up (Honey Come, Honey Comes, Honeycomb), Honeycomb just makes the most sense. I mean, Honey Come(s)? That has no meaning. Honeycomb, on the other hand, does. I am friends with a native Japanese speaker and I plan to ask her how she would romanize the katakana, but nevertheless, I am pretty sure that we should all make 'Honeycomb' the standard. Spread the word?
[Edit: Hmm, after thinking it over AGAIN, it may be Honey Come, because of the break in the word, and the fact that 'Honeycomb' written in katakana doesn't have that break. Agh! Stupid Engrish! Anyway, I'm changing my translation to say Honey Come for now.]

Also, in case you were wondering, the song's title seems to be a play on the Japanese word 'hanikamu', meaning bashful, which is mentioned in the song. Hee, it's cute.